A-B Tech Students Recognized for Exemplary Academic Achievements

Dr. King with SGA Officers
April 9, 2019
Tech Talk

A-B Tech Community College honored outstanding students during its Academic Awards Ceremony April 9 in Ferguson Auditorium. 

Student Melissa Wright received the 2019 Academic Excellence Award from the North Carolina Community College System. One student from each of the 58 community colleges is selected from this award. Students must have completed at least 12 semester hours in an associate degree program and have GPA of no less than 3.25. Each student receives a plaque and medallion in honor of their academic accomplishments.

Dakota Pangle was honored for being the college’s nominee for the statewide Dallas Herring Achievement Award, which was established in 2010 to honor the late Dr. Herring, considered one of the founding fathers of community colleges in the state.

Darinda Noah was A-B Tech’s nominee for the Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award, which was created in 2004 by the North Carolina Association of Community College Presidents as a way to recognize student leadership on a statewide level while also honoring former Governor Bob Scott.

The Student Government Association officers were given recognition in appreciation of their service. Officers for 2018-19 were Darinda Noah, President; Maggie Cihelkova, Vice President and Aimee Bovara, Secretary.

Students honored in the Division of Academic Success and Public Services were Gwen Lyles and Brooke Wilson for Developmental Studies; Melanie Sellers, Early Childhood Education; Virginia Currie; Health and Fitness Science; Cailin Boldin,Human Services Technology. 

Jasmine R. Gaines was honored for her work in Transitional Studies.

Receiving awards in the Division of Allied Health were Erica Campbell, Associate Degree Nursing; Elizabeth Dalton, Dental Assisting; Abigail Morehouse, Dental Hygiene; Kyleigh Parrott, Medical Assisting; Haley Freeman, Medical Laboratory Technology; Amy Taylor, Medical Sonography; Ryan Fredrick, Occupational Therapy Assistant; Amber Bundy, Radiography; Korah McDonald, Veterinary Medical Technology.

Students honored in the Division of Engineering and Applied Technology were Stephen Pierson, Civil Engineering Technology; Chance Burnette, Computer-Aided Drafting Technology; Jason Gasche, Computer Engineering Technology; Brendon Cummins, Computer Integrated Machining; Cara Barton, Construction Management; Trevor Parker, Electrical Systems Technology; Philip Shaw, Electronics Engineering Technology; Taryn Hendrickson; Environmental Engineering Technology; Johnathan Hampton, Industrial Systems Technology; Bryan Prim, Mechanical Engineering Technology; Christian Davis, Sustainability Technologies and Building Construction Science; Welding Technology, Ryan Clare.

Honors given in the Division of Arts and Sciences went to Casey Register McCuller, Associate in Arts; Chandler Beiler, Associate in Engineering; Gregory Armento, Associate in Fine Arts in Visual Arts; William K. Smith, Associate in Science.

Receiving awards in the Division of Business and Hospitality were Jeffrey Manion, Accounting; Carl Pietzsch II, Aviation Management; Tasha Roby, Baking and Pastry Arts; Darron Powell, Brewing, Distillation and Fermentation; Coty Clark, Career Pilot Technology; Paul Desfosses, Computer Information Technology;  Alexandria Carroll, Cosmetology; Cheyane Verran, Culinary Arts; Taylor Faford, Digital Media Technology; Karla Alvarez, Entrepreneurship; Casey Connor, Hospitality Management.

Students honored in the Division of Emergency Services were Ryan Carlson, Criminal Justice Technology; Sean Mabe, Emergency Medical Science; Galmandakh Gankhuyag, Fire Protection Technology.

See a full photo album on our Facebook page. 

All News
A-B Tech Help Chat